Can't get Pocketpedia TV to work right

Report your bugs here - if someone else has already mentioned the same bug, just add on to their post with as much info as possible to make the hunting easier.

Can't get Pocketpedia TV to work right

Postby randian » Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:47 am

1) It only seemed to sync with Bookpedia and ignored the other pedias. For example, only Bookpedia smart collections are showing up.
2) There doesn't seem to be any way to force it to check for and sync with the other pedias.
3) There are a lot of missing covers and it's unclear if they haven't synced or syncing is slower-than-sloth slow.
4) There is no top-level menu with all the pedias as items like there is in Pocketpedia for iOS
randian
Bruji Friend
Bruji Friend
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:07 pm

Re: Can't get Pocketpedia TV to work right

Postby Conor » Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:42 am

Thanks for the feedback and the bug report on Pocketpedia TV. We did try to make it a bit more magical with less interface and sync in the background. Here some detail on what should be happening, but will test the current beta.

1) Should sync all of them in order, once it's done with Bookpedia it should move on to the other Pedias. You can turn off Bookpedia for testing, this way it should find one of the other Pedias to sync against first. Do restart the other Pedias as well, just for debugging and testing.
2) Should happen on launch of the app and every time it comes to the front, it should check if it needs syncing.
3) The covers are done in the background, depends on your network, but should not take to long on a home network.
4) Once there more than one Pedia synced, you should get a new menu on the top left that says "Bookpedia" (the current Pedia). From that menu you can switch between media to the others.
User avatar
Conor
Top Dog
 
Posts: 4748
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: Can't get Pocketpedia TV to work right

Postby randian » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:07 pm

Conor wrote:1) Should sync all of them in order, once it's done with Bookpedia it should move on to the other Pedias. You can turn off Bookpedia for testing, this way it should find one of the other Pedias to sync against first. Do restart the other Pedias as well, just for debugging and testing.
2) Should happen on launch of the app and every time it comes to the front, it should check if it needs syncing.

There's no visual or other evidence that the app is trying to sync anything beyond the initial sync of Bookpedia. I even launched it after waking the ATV from sleep just to be sure.
Conor wrote:3) The covers are done in the background, depends on your network, but should not take to long on a home network.

In that case, the sync wasn't slow it simply failed with a bunch of missing covers.
Conor wrote:4) Once there more than one Pedia synced, you should get a new menu on the top left that says "Bookpedia" (the current Pedia). From that menu you can switch between media to the others.

Since it doesn't seem to be syncing that of course doesn't appear.
randian
Bruji Friend
Bruji Friend
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:07 pm


Return to Bug Reports

cron