DVDPedia - Amazon

Any trouble you encounter with the Pedias, here's the place to ask for help.

DVDPedia - Amazon

Postby PGW » Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:38 pm

Just a heads up - I tried adding a movie ("Daylight") by UPC and it couldn't be found on Amazon. Nor could it be located by title. I tried the same thing with "Cliffhanger" - same thing. Finally, I tried to enter "Citizen Kane" - same thing - it just immediately came up with a "not found" message.

Does Amazon's info feed periodically go down, or is something broken with DVDPedia?
PGW
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:55 am

Re: DVDPedia - Amazon

Postby Conor » Sat Apr 23, 2016 3:07 am

Are you using a Amazon store other than the US version. Amazon recently changed their terms of service to require an associate ID from the same country that is being searched. Almost everybody is signed in for the US Associate program. So if you search the UK store for example it will now return no results when using a US Associate ID.

You can verify if this is the case by looking at the the detailed error log in the console after a search. I have to update the interface to allow more than one Associate ID for users that might use more than a single country store.
User avatar
Conor
Top Dog
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: DVDPedia - Amazon

Postby PGW » Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:16 pm

I am using the U.S. Amazon selection. I have no idea what an "associate ID" is. If "almost everybody is signed in" for it, they've sure done a good job keeping me in the dark.

Doing a search, is this what you're talking about?

https://affiliate-program.amazon.com
PGW
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 8:55 am

Re: DVDPedia - Amazon

Postby Conor » Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:35 am

That would indeed be it.
User avatar
Conor
Top Dog
 
Posts: 4769
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: DVDPedia - Amazon

Postby wkpna » Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:27 am

Conor wrote:I have to update the interface to allow more than one Associate ID for users that might use more than a single country store.


Could you please explain how exactly to do that?

Thank you.
wkpna
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:25 am


Return to Support

cron