Front row integration

Announcements, upcoming features,... (READ ME!)

Re: Front row integration

Postby Nora » Thu Jun 12, 2008 3:36 am

Mathieu has just sent us version 1.1 of the Front Row plug-in which fixes the problem that could occur when the data folder was not in the default location (~/Library/Application Support). So download it, give it a try and leave any feedback here in this thread.
Mathieu also let us know that he's working on a new version that will support collection browsing and show more information about the selected movie. So look forward to that in the future!
User avatar
Nora
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2149
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 5:03 am

Re: Front row integration

Postby keving » Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:22 pm

Thank you in advance for the updated version with the facility to work with non-default paths. I'm out of the country at the moment, but will download the latest version and let you know how I get on. Fab speedy job, I've complete confidence that all is well. Cheers

Kevin
keving
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:02 am

Re: Front row integration

Postby Ted » Tue Jun 17, 2008 6:58 am

Very nice! One fairly serious bug though: It shows you movies that are in Collections that have been excluded from the Library. It would certainly be nice to have a subcategory that allows you to browse Collections, but at the top level you shouldn't be able to see Excluded Collections when browsing your library.

It just doesn't make sense -- for instance I have a "Seen on Film" Excluded Collection where I simply add any movie I see in a theater, even if I have no intention of ever getting the DVD. Having all those titles mixed in defeats the whole experience.

Thanks again for a great plugin -- and please fix this :-)

Ted
Ted
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 3:30 pm
Location: NYC, NY

Re: Front row integration

Postby xfiring » Fri Jun 20, 2008 8:33 am

Just thought I'd post a feature request for this plug-in to launch VLC instead of Quicktime. Quicktime is still not as fluid as VLC and does not do some DTS audio for MKV files.

Thanks.
xfiring
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:57 pm

Re: Front row integration

Postby keving » Sat Jun 21, 2008 8:11 am

THANK YOU, brilliant plug-in and works great with multiple macs sharing one database. :-)
keving
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:02 am

Re: Front row integration

Postby griffer » Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:55 pm

This plugin is awesome, thanks a lot! :)

One question do anybody know if it's possible to get this to work on the appletv with a hack? Im currently using my macbook pro to play movies on my tv, but using the appletv would be better... If it don't well then ill probably just buy a mac mini instead, gives a lot more extra features anyway.
griffer
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:38 pm

Re: Front row integration

Postby foogy » Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:30 pm

Hi,

good news, I just bought an Apple TV last friday and decided to bring the DVDpedia Front Row plug-in to it. I'm about half way done with the port.
But you have to know that the whole patching and configuration of the AppleTV to allow installation of plug-ins have to be done anyway. Have a look at http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Main_Page to know what it implies.

One bad news, I will be pretty busy for the next 2 weeks, so the development of the plug-in will be slowed down.
User avatar
foogy
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 7:13 pm

Re: Front row integration

Postby -LD » Mon Jun 30, 2008 8:41 pm

Sweet! I am more than willing to test it out on my AppleTV (hacked with patchstick).
-LD
Bruji Friend
Bruji Friend
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:28 pm

Re: Front row integration

Postby agkerr3 » Sun Jul 06, 2008 10:02 pm

Is it possible to alter the position of DVDpedia in the Front Row menu? When I load the plugin, it is located right below "DVD" and right above "Movies," which is ideal. However, I no longer need the "Movies" plugin once I load DVDpedia. If I remove it, the DVDpedia menu item ends up at the end of the list, after Sources and Settings.

Is there an easy way to alter menu positioning?
agkerr3
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:54 pm

Re: Front row integration

Postby Conor » Mon Jul 07, 2008 5:36 am

There is a text file inside the plug-in that indicates the position of the menu to Front Row, be editing this text file you can add the value. Under the Go menu in the Finder use Go to Folder and enter:
Code: Select all
/System/Library/CoreServices/Front Row.app/Contents/PlugIns/DVDpedia.frappliance/Contents

Open the Info.plist file in TextEdit and add the following two lines (change the 0 for the position number you would like the DVDpedia menu to appear at):
Code: Select all
<key>FRAppliancePreferedOrderValue</key>
<real>0</real>
User avatar
Conor
Top Dog
 
Posts: 5206
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: Front row integration

Postby agkerr3 » Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:07 pm

That is most excellent. Thanks for the tip. I've hacked around on the menu titles but had not figured out how to do the positioning.
agkerr3
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 9:54 pm

Re: Front row integration

Postby edgauthier » Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:40 am

It would be great if when sorting, words at the beginning of the title like "The" and "A" could be ignored. I noticed in DVDPedia this is happening, but in Frontrow, movies that start with The are sorted down with the T's.

Also - I'm looking forward to seeing the AppleTV option. I've been looking for something to use as a video server and DVDPedia with this plugin on an AppleTV seems like a great option.

Thanks,
-Ed
edgauthier
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:36 am

Re: Front row integration

Postby exyss » Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:44 pm

dude! you've got to give us a donation link at least! i'd pay in a heartbeat for an apple tv plugin!
exyss
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:40 pm

Re: Front row integration

Postby d2photo » Fri Jul 11, 2008 5:01 am

Think I may have found my problem as I don't have the database in the default local - so I guess I'll be waiting for the fix.
d2photo
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 5:06 am

Re: Front row integration

Postby Conor » Fri Jul 11, 2008 5:07 am

The latest version can handle the database in a different location than the default, so be sure to install the plug-in again.
User avatar
Conor
Top Dog
 
Posts: 5206
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:58 pm

PreviousNext

Return to News

cron