CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Report your bugs here - if someone else has already mentioned the same bug, just add on to their post with as much info as possible to make the hunting easier.

CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Postby DanThe » Sat Feb 20, 2016 9:57 am

CDpedia 5.4.2 and CDpedia 5.4.2 Beta 70

When dragging and dropping a URL that starts with https: on to an album, the resulting link type is blank instead of showing "Web Page".

Steps to Reproduce
1. Launch Safari and CDpedia.
2. In Safari, go to wikipedia.org and search for any artists (i.e. Beatles).
3. Drag the Wikipedia search result URL (https) to any album Details view in CDpedia.
4. In CDpedia, edit the album that now contains the new link.
5. Click on the Links tab.

Note that the new link's Type field is blank instead of showing this new link as a Web Page.
DanThe
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Postby FineWine » Sat Feb 20, 2016 4:51 pm

No problem in DVDpedia or Bookpedia using Safari or Firefox
User avatar
FineWine
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:41 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Postby Conor » Sun Feb 21, 2016 4:43 am

Thank you for the clear instructions and step by steps to reproduce. Like Finewine works correctly, but I will keep digging as Apple has updated a lot of the HTTPS requirements. I assume this is all on Mac OS X El Capitan?
User avatar
Conor
Top Dog
 
Posts: 5176
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Postby FineWine » Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:35 am

I presume this is a standard CDpedia details view template and not a third party template from the Extras page or one of your own design?
User avatar
FineWine
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:41 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Postby DanThe » Sun Feb 21, 2016 4:57 pm

No this is not a custom template but the default one that come with the installation. I have done the same test on DVDpedia and Bookpedia and I get the same issue as I get with CDpedia. The links will works but in the edit Links it is not being recognized as a Web Page in the Type field.

I have taken a screen shot of the same test in Bookpedia. Unfortunately I can't figure how to unload the image so here is a shared Dropbox link.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/du2rhlsmjuso4 ... M.png?dl=0

Hopefully this illustrates the end result better.
DanThe
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Postby Conor » Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:54 pm

Thank you so much for the clarification. I miss understood the first report and thought the actual link was not loading as a web page, instead of the type missing.

Fixed in the beta version (and included in the next release):

Bookpedia
CDpedia
DVDpedia
Gamepedia
User avatar
Conor
Top Dog
 
Posts: 5176
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Postby FineWine » Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:43 pm

Conor wrote:Thank you so much for the clarification. I miss understood the first report and thought the actual link was not loading as a web page, instead of the type missing.

Fixed in the beta version (and included in the next release):

Oop's I too misread the OP. Can confirm the fix works.

Thanks DanThe for pointing this out to Conor.

Cheers
User avatar
FineWine
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 2:41 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: CDpedia - Blank Type With HTTPS Web Pages

Postby DanThe » Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:58 pm

No problems. I should of put more emphasis on the fact that the links worked in the first place. :(

I'm just amazed at how fast the turnaround was for this issue. :D

Glad to help out anyway I can.
DanThe
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 6:23 pm


Return to Bug Reports

cron