Sync between Macs

Any trouble you encounter with the Pedias, here's the place to ask for help.
Detlev
Inductee
Inductee

Sync between Macs

Post by Detlev »

Hello,

i am new to bookpedia: I can not find out if is possible to sync my database between my iMac and my Macbook.

any help would be appriciated

Detlev
Conor
Top Dog

Re: Sync between Macs

Post by Conor »

Hi Detlev,

To share the database between Macs you can use any shared location. Most users use Dropbox or iCloud, but it can also be a local server or mourning the hard drive from one computer on the other. Then both computers are reading the same data folder.

You would move your data folder from ~/Library/Application Support/Bookpedia to this shared location and then launch Bookpedia holding down option to select the new location. I personally use Dropbox and can recommend it, but you can replace iCloud for Dropbox in the instructions below. I mention only Bookpedia as you asked but the steps are the same for the other pedias should others read this post.

If you don't already have Dropbox, it a convenient program that automatically keeps a folder in sync across a number of computers via the Cloud. It's a free service up to 2 gigabytes (much more than you would need for all 4 Pedias). If you are signing up for the first time use this link, I get a 500 megabyte bonus on my own account.

1. Place the pedia data folder in Dropbox or iCloud.
  • • On the first Mac
    • Quit Bookpedia on both Macs.
    • Hold down the option (alt) key and click on the "Go" menu in the Finder. Select "Library" menu command. (Only appears as the option is held down).
    • Open the folder named "Application Support"
    • Look for "Bookpedia" folder.
    • Move it over to "Dropbox" folder in your home folder.