Anyone using Bookpedia at a library?

Talk to other Pedia users about the programs, share tricks and tips or ask questions about existing features.
riktexan
Inductee
Inductee

Anyone using Bookpedia at a library?

Post by riktexan »

I'm an elementary school librarian. Bookpedia could be just right for our relatively small school...~70 kids in K-8.
Looking for experiences with Bookpedia in a library.

Thanks
Rick in Maine
druid
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji

Post by druid »

I've only used it for inventory of a private library, but at 5k books, it's still fast and stable. I don't use the loan-and-retrieve features, but I bet they suit your circulation needs. If most of your books have ISBNs, you will be able to input the data very quickly. You sure can't beat the price!

PS: the other Pedias will be helpful if you have CDs and DVDs in the collection.
Jodi

using Bookpedia at a library

Post by Jodi »

Rick,
I've been using Bookpedia to catalogue the school library at a small k-8 Catholic school in Minneapolis. I'm volunteering my time to do it and I've worked all school year on it. I think I'm only about half done with 3500 books catalogued so far. I'm guessing they have about 7-9 thousand books. Although it's hard to tell since they quit cataloguing their books some years back.

We hope to put the catalogue either on-line or use an in-house access. I think we will have to create our own template to get the catalogue to show all the fields we want.

At this point we don't intend on using Bookpedia to check-out and check-in the books. The librarian will continue to use the pocket cards for that.

It has been taking me longer than I thought it would, mostly because I am a little too detailed (read: anal-retentive, ie:overly obsessed with minor details).

This is my method: