FrontRow Plugin

Talk to other Pedia users about the programs, share tricks and tips or ask questions about existing features.

FrontRow Plugin

Postby mikic » Wed May 28, 2008 5:02 pm

Hello everyone,

I have recently installed the plugin for FrontRow. I noticed that if I have my Library database on an external HD DvdPedia is not able to play the files linked. Is there a solution for this "problem" ?

Thanks.

P.S.: I'm sorry for my english( :oops: ). I hope you have understood :)
mikic
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: FrontRow Plugin

Postby Nora » Thu May 29, 2008 3:53 am

Do your linked movies work from within DVDpedia?

(We hadn't officially announced the plug-in yet but I guess we'll do that now. :) It was written by a DVDpedia user so we don't know too much about the plug-in yet.)
User avatar
Nora
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2149
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 5:03 am

Re: FrontRow Plugin

Postby mikic » Thu May 29, 2008 5:21 am

Yes, from DVDPedia it works.
mikic
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: FrontRow Plugin

Postby Nora » Thu May 29, 2008 9:15 am

Could you give us a few examples of your links (you can see the path in the Edit window, Links tab)? That way we can try to mirror your setup here and hopefully reproduce the problem. Thanks.
User avatar
Nora
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2149
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 5:03 am

Re: FrontRow Plugin

Postby mikic » Thu May 29, 2008 11:56 am

( I have the DVDPedia data folder on my external HD ( /Volumes/LaCie ) )

These are three examples:

file:///Volumes/LaCie/Archivio Film/The Blacksmith.avi
file:///Volumes/LaCie/Archivio Film/The Immigrant.avi
file:///Volumes/LaCie/Archivio Film/One Week.avi

Good work! :D

P.S.: I think that the plugin is only able to read informations from the default path. Indeed if you remove the DVDPedia folder from /Library/ApplicationSupport/ and start FrontRow the plugin crashes.
mikic
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 4:58 pm

Re: FrontRow Plugin

Postby Conor » Thu May 29, 2008 4:04 pm

Thank you for the information, those are two separate bugs I believe. I have told the plug-in creator and given him code for the second one on how to find out the path to the data folder.
User avatar
Conor
Top Dog
 
Posts: 5206
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:58 pm

Re: FrontRow Plugin

Postby -LD » Thu May 29, 2008 5:33 pm

What's this I hear about a FrontRow plugin? What's it do and can I test it out?

Thanks!
-LD
Bruji Friend
Bruji Friend
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:28 pm

Re: FrontRow Plugin

Postby foogy » Thu May 29, 2008 6:56 pm

hi!

you were right mikic, the plug-in dont have support for DVDpedia database outside of the default path.
But thanks to the code snippet from Conor, I will fix this issue very quickly.
User avatar
foogy
Inductee
Inductee
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 7:13 pm

Re: FrontRow Plugin

Postby -LD » Thu May 29, 2008 7:41 pm

Found it, dig it a lot.
-LD
Bruji Friend
Bruji Friend
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:28 pm


Return to PediaTalk

cron