BookPedia Links

Any trouble you encounter with the Pedias, here's the place to ask for help.
marksealey
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji

BookPedia Links

Post by marksealey »

I've been using the fabulous BookPedia 3 for several months now and realize I don't really know what 'Links' are and how I can use them.

Is there an entry on Links anywhere in an FAQ or the Help file (I can't find one), please?

TIA!
live4ever
Bruji Friend
Bruji Friend

Post by live4ever »

I use them to link to an eBook PDF file if I have one for the title, or the publisher homepage, or any texts that came with a CD-ROM I can link the entry to a disk image.
marksealey
Addicted to Bruji
Addicted to Bruji

Thanks - still in the dark

Post by marksealey »

live4ever,

Thanks! So are links in general meant for files on your local machine?

Or to web pages; other files? Other items in the BookPedia database?

Does one link go to one record? How is it attached there? Unattached?

Can it be any media?

I guess I thought I knew but can't find docs. on it.
Conor
Top Dog

Post by Conor »

We are working on overhauling the help to make it more useful and also add a lot more information.

In the meantime the links are very flexible. The can be any URL, which means it can be a file, any kind, also a web page but you will have to be online. (We are working in incorporating a make web archive command for future versions, so that you can store it off-line; you can do that now but you have to create the web archive first and then link it.) The way the links work are by keeping a URL to the file and when you click the link it tells the finder to launch that URL with your preferred program. You can launch apps, you could even create mailto: links and have a mail link.